But you’ll always have yourself.

excerpt from my journal

“I looked in the mirror this morning. And really looked at myself. For once I didn’t look away quickly. I admired myself, admired each curve on my body, each stretch mark, staring at the constellations that make up my body. And I smiled. For once, I saw constellations instead of mistakes. I want everyone to feel this. I want everyone to look at themselves like this. I want to shout on the top of a mountain that every body is beautiful because it’s YOUR body. I may not be completely in love with myself yet, but just like everything in life, it’s a work in progress. Please, please remember that loving yourself is everything. you are all you need, and you are all you have. love yourself, please. Screw the thought of someone not loving your body or just you. You don’t need them and you never will. but you’ll always have yourself.

I want you to love yourself. Your body, your personality. Here are ways that have helped me to begin this journey with myself. And remember, you aren’t perfect. Instead, you are a work in progress.

  1. BUY A CUTE BRA AND UNDERWEAR.

buy this for yourself. this isn’t to please anyone, but yourself. strut around your room while music blasts. look hot for you. look in the mirror and admire your beautiful body. you deserve it.

    2. PAINT OR WRITE OUT POSITIVE QUOTES.

can’t stress to you all how much of an impact this can have. writing messages such as, “fall in love with taking care of yourself. mind. body. spirit.”,”loving yourself is the greatest revolution.”, “you are enough.”,”love yourself and the rest will follow.” I do this a lot when I’m feeling down. Not only is it therapeutic but it’s also fun and makes a cute instagram post!

    3. TREAT YO SELF!

  do this!!!! it’ll seriously make you feel good. want that chocolate shake? get it!! want those jeans that fit you perfectly? get them!! remember that you deserve it because you are amazing.

   4. MAKE AN AMAZING PLAYLIST.

music is perfect for making anyone feel good! put together a rockin’ playlist with songs that you can’t help but shout the lyrics and make you feel good. Put songs that will make you dance around your room and make you enjoy your own company. You can check out some of the playlists I’ve made here.

   5. WEAR CLOTHES THAT MAKE YOU FEEL GOOD.

Forget about the trends. Wear what you want to wear! Wear what makes you feel good about yourself! Don’t think about what people will think, or how it may look on you, because if you love it then you deserve to wear it! Wearing clothes that you are in love with will make you feel good about yourself, I promise!

   6. UNDERSTAND THAT YOU AREN’T PERFECT AND YOU NEVER WILL BE. AND THAT’S     OKAY.

No one is perfect. Not even that one model you saw in that magazine, or that one youtuber you adore. Being perfect isn’t real. Everyone has their flaws. But flaws aren’t always bad, because they’re what make you who you are. Flaws are beautiful.

   7. REMEMBER THAT YOU ARE LEARNING AND GROWING EVERYDAY.

This one is pretty self explanatory. Everyday you are closer to being person you are mean’t to be. Everyone grows and learns at their own pace.

   8. TAKE CARE OF YOUR BODY.

Always look out for what’s best for your body. Care for it. Treat yourself with a new face mask, eat some veggies but still enjoy that ice cream. Take care of your body just like you’d take care of someone you love.

    9. STOP COMPARING YOURSELF TO OTHERS.

Can’t stress this enough!!!! No one is like you, you are unique. Everyone has different body types, which makes us all beautiful. EVERY BODY IS BEAUTIFUL. Stop trying to look like someone, love how you look now! You are beautiful how you are, remember that!

   10. LOOK AT THE MIRROR AND ADMIRE YOURSELF.

Look at your scars, your stretch marks, your curves. ADMIRE THEM. Admire every inch of your body and appreciate yourself. Repeat to yourself that you are enough the way you are and never let anyone tell you different. Put on a cute bra and undies, blast your favorite songs, and dance around. Fall in love with yourself.

Remember that loving yourself is a work in progress. You’ll get there one day. I promise.

And if you don’t love yourself yet, know that I love you. you are enough.

XoXo, Julia.

2 thoughts on “But you’ll always have yourself.

Leave a Reply

